Flower Mirror Blossoms from Plastic Spoons

The leaping arrival of springtime has made me wonder what it would be like to be a florist. Imagine being surrounded by every flower imaginable and needing to package them together to perfectly express individual stories. If we inhabited a society like the one from Lois Lowry’s “The Giver” I believe that the florist would be an esteemed keeper of emotional knowledge. Florist’s are like great artists who hear the first paragraph of a novel and are willing to illustrate the cover.

What if Romeo had relied upon flower type to express his love to Juliet? Talk about pressure. Today the bachelor attempts to convey his love to over twenty women by giving them red roses. Trying to decode the meaning of flowers is akin to trying to use morse code to express your emotions. Beeps and dashes simply are not enough for the spectrum of human emotion, but they can provide the general outlines. These outlines can include everything ranging from: “I love you,” “I miss you” to a simple “congratulations.” Unless the recipient of flowers is an expert in the language of flowers I would recommend a short explanatory card.

Apparently the “Language of Flowers” was very popular topic during the Victorian era in England.

Image

The arrival of spring has made me want to burst open like a flower so I decided this week to collect some plastic spoons and create something that does just that. Today we will create our own chrysanthemum mirror by up-cycling plastic spoons and an old make up mirror.

The first step is to collect all of your supplies. I ended up using my housemate’s old shoe box as my base even though the Cheez-It box is featured here. My friend Joey also graciously volunteered himself to help paint some of my spoons even though he is not featured here.

Image

Next, trace a large bowl on your flattened shoe box/dumpster dive find. Then paint it a vibrant red.

ImageImage

Now turn your Pandora station to Gregory Allen Isakov. He is a fellow marveler at the intricacy of life’s detail. His website records his explanation of his title “Weatherman” for an album. He said “to me the idea of a weatherman is really powerful. There’s a guy on television or on the radian telling us the future and nobody cares. It’s this daily mundane miracle, and I thing the songs I chose are about noticing the beauty in normal, everyday life.” I feel like his music is appropriate for the bursting of spring onto Life’s page.

Now begin the process of creating your petals. Cut the tops of your spoons leaving a little leeway on the stem of the spoon. I recommend making a slight cut with scissors and then lightly breaking the plastic with your hands. As I did this I tried to think about the petal like blessings in my life. The beautiful things right under my nose that I sometimes forget to notice unless there is a chilling, difficult winter in life.

Image

Then paint your petals the vibrant red color and recruit a sweet friend or two if possible.

ImageImage

Now start imagining how you would like your chrysanthemum to come together and then hot glue the first layer of your petals.

ImageImageImage

Now complete the other layers of your petals by hot gluing a spoon under where each two spoons meet. Then use scissors to cut the cardboard to outline your last line of petals.

ImageScreen Shot 2014-03-21 at 2.05.38 PM

If you have a sealing spray, wait until your blossoming flower mirror is fully dry and spray. Make sure that you cover the mirror with tape or something similar when spraying.

Finally, enjoy spring to the fullest! Make sure that you skip outside today.

Screen Shot 2014-03-21 at 2.02.09 PM

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

