The In-between book

Everyone needs a little book to document their day to day thoughts. This little book is not for the day that you win a world championship or paint a masterpiece that hangs in a museum. It is for those in between days in which you are simply living your life.

This book allows you to stop for a moment in the swirling world and listen to your feelings and the rhythm of the world surrounding you. I hope you find a feeling of peace from taking a few seconds from your often hectic day to stop and examine the world around you instead of rushing by it to get to the next place in your planner.

I suggest recording anything that inspires you in whatever form you desire. I encourage anything from sketching a flower, writing a haiku, doodling an epic story or pasting in a favorite memory with a photo. You can also choose to record famous quotes, movie lines or simply a good joke that your friend told you.

The first step to creating your own little book is to eat a bowl of cereal. Seriously.Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.34.03 AM

Then cut your book shape out of the box and turn your pandora station to the film score station (this makes anything that I do feel extra epic).

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.41.38 AM

I did not plan to have a book with a little flap, but after taking a look at my cereal box I decided that this could be cute! And I figured if I does not work out that it is all apart of my crafting journey anyway! Remember to fold your future book so that the colorful cereal box outside faces the inner part of your book.

Take a nice slightly thicker piece of paper and cut it to the shape of your future book and connect with hot glue.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.43.35 AM Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.44.18 AM

Now cut a large piece of fabric to fit over your book. Allow for extra on the top and bottom of the material so that you can hot glue the edges so that you do not have scraggly ends getting in your way. Then paste the material to the cover and back of your book. Spread a bit of hot glue and fold over the edges of the material onto the inside of your soon to be book.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.51.17 AMScreen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.51.37 AM

Next, find some paper. I was just thinking that if you do not have traditional white paper, try newspaper! Paint the newspaper lightly with white and then write and draw over past words and ideas! Cut the paper to fit equally inside of your book. Then take a needle and some hardy thread and sew two long stitches through all of the pages of your book to bind them together. After finishing your sewing, hot glue your set of pages in your little book.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.57.18 AM

Now you have two choices. I will not offer you a red pill or blue pill (Matrix anyone?) and thankfully this decision is not quite as serious as changing the world as you know it.  You can chose to leave your little book as it is or spice is up a bit more. Here it is so far.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.59.10 AM

 

I chose to try to spice it up a bit more. I did not have a button so I decided to use an old bottle cap that I have had sitting in my room for months. I hot glued it to my little flap.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.59.27 AM

Then I decided to add a bit of glam with a piece of frilly gold thread to bind the journal close if I wished.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.59.43 AM Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 11.59.55 AM

 

Enjoy your little book!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

