A Sister Craft

This post is dedicated to a sister craft.

Sister crafts are special. My sister and I have been embarking on the crafting journey since we were wee little tykes. I was known as the Billy Goat because I ate all of her poor acrylic paints and sunk my little baby teeth into her paper. As we got a little older and our legs started to inch closer to the ground as we cuddled around our kitchen table crafting, we progressed to glueing our fingers together and using lots and lots of scented magic markers. Kara once even gave me a stylish haircut using the crafting scissors.

We have made everything together ranging from matching pink and yellow dresses that we sewed with a little help from my very patient grandmother to this repurposed picture frame. Our trips to Michael’s and to the back of what we lovingly called “the craft closet” are legendary.

The first step to making this sister craft is to make some chocolate chip cookies (make sure to gobble up some cookie dough during the process!) Kara is known for her excellent desserts. Therefore craft time often occurs simultaneously with baking time.

Now go to the back of your closet or dust off that old softball picture that you have stashed somewhere and find the perfect frame. Size depends on how much jewelry you wish to be stored on your jewelry catcher. Kara loves earrings so her frame was on the larger side while I made mine for necklaces so it is more medium sized.

Then remove the glass, old picture of you cheesing the first day of middle school ect.

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.12.20 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.12.34 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.12.43 AM

Now you can chose to take this craft two different ways as Kara and I did. This makes sense because Kara and I are as about as opposite as siblings can be. Yet, we have discovered in our old age that we can actually be the best of friends despite our differences. She is the left brained med school student and I am the right brained aspiring designer. So together we make a match.

First, I’ll show you what Kara designed.

Kara found some fine wire mesh at Lowes. She then cut a square of the mesh material to fit inside of her frame.

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.17.47 AM

Then she got out her trusty hot glue gun and glued the sheet of fine wire to the inside of the frame. This created little holes where were she now organizes her gazillion earrings.

She found some Carolina blue paint in the craft closet and she proceeded to decorate with a half blue/half black design.

This jewelry catcher has moved with her from Statesville to Chapel Hill to Clemson to Phoenix and is still in working order I am happy to announce.

I decided to go a slightly different direction because I had some cork board left over from a past project. I found some material that I loved from my fabric box (I chose a fun vintage canvas material) and then hot glued the material on top of the cork board so that the ends of the material were folded neatly on the side that would face the back of the frame.

Then I placed my fabric covered cork board inside of the frame.

I rounded up some stray pushpins and hot glued blue fake flowers to the top of each pushpin for a bit of fancy chic flair.

10157142_10151952493621786_741079927_n

I tried out my new pins in the board and began hanging my necklaces! My Picture frame necklace holder has helped me to become much more organized in the fashion department! I hope that you have a marvelous time doing this craft with someone you love. Treasure the time you have to create together.

1979607_10151952493626786_869371397_n

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

